What do Kei Kamara and Diego Maradona have in common? Both had a d’oh moment on the soccer field. Only Maradona got away with his handball during the 1986 World Cup.
The empty-net situation occurred roughly 15 minutes into the match. Galaxy goalkeeper Donovan Ricketts left the net to block Wizards forward Davy Arnaud‘s shot. The ball deflected off Ricketts to Kamara, who was within inches of an empty net and an easy rebound goal.
However, the goal proved anything but a sure thing for Kamara.
The striker slipped on the wet field, fell over and pushed the ball into the net with his arm. Referee Hilario Grajeda called back the goal after Kamara’s handball.
Galaxy defender Gregg Bernhalter was stunned by the miss.
“It was one of the most unbelievable things I’ve seen in soccer,” Bernhalter said. “It was unfortunate for Kamara but it was handball and credit the linesman for seeing it.”
Check out the video below to see the miss.
Powered by WordPress.com VIP