NFL Says Tim Tebow-to-Demaryius Thomas Touchdown Was Legal, Wasn’t Run Out of Illegal Formation

Was the Broncos’ miraculous 80-yard touchdown from Tim Tebow to Demaryius Thomas run out of an illegal formation? The NFL says no way.

However, there were those who wondered whether or not the touchdown — on the first play of overtime — came out of an illegal formation. The Denver Post brought forth evidence that may have proved that the Broncos had only six men on the line of scrimmage. Rules state that teams must have seven players on the line when the ball is snapped.

However, that theory was shot down by NFL spokesman Greg Aiello.

“There is nothing to this,” he told NFL.com. “This is a legal formation.”

The Broncos gained no real advantage by having tight end Dante Rosario off the line of scrimmage, but having the play flagged obviously would have at least nullified the touchdown.

You know, if it actually were an illegal formation.

Click here for an extensive history of the Tebowing phenomenon >>

Click here to see photos of women linked to Tebow throughout his career >>

Yardbarker

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 186,377 other followers