NBA Says Officials Missed Foul Call on Dahntay Jones Resulting in Kobe Bryant’s Sprained Ankle

The NBA says officials missed a foul call when Kobe Bryant was injured in a game against Atlanta.

The Los Angeles Lakers star complained he was fouled when he landed on the foot of the Hawks’ Dahntay Jones with seconds left in the Lakers’ 96-92 loss Wednesday night. He crumpled to the ground and clutched his ankle and the Lakers said he would be out “indefinitely.”

The league posted a statement on its web site Thursday that said “video replay confirmed that referees missed a foul call on Jones as he challenged Bryant’s shot and did not give him the opportunity to land cleanly back on the floor. Bryant should have been granted two free throws.”

Bryant tweeted that his ankle was “still very swollen.”

Yardbarker

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 195,374 other followers