Tiger Woods Given Two-Shot Penalty After Moving Ball While Removing Twig (Video)

LAKE FOREST, Ill. — Tiger Woods was involved in another rules violation Friday in the BMW Championship, this time getting the two-shot penalty before he left the golf course.

Video evidence indicated that his golf ball moved ever so slightly as Woods was removing a twig from an area under the trees behind the first green at Conway Farms. What made this case unusual is that the video was taken by a videographer working for PGA Tour Entertainment, and the infraction was noticed by someone editing the film.

Slugger White, vice president of competition at the PGA Tour, stopped Woods before he signed for a 70. Woods didn’t believe the ball moved out of its position, and White said the world’s No. 1 player still wasn’t convinced after watching the video.

“He said he didn’t feel he could see that,” White said. “I felt like that was OK, but the ball did move.”

That turned a double bogey on No. 1 into a quadruple-bogey 8. It turned his 70 into a 72. Instead of being five shots behind Brandt Snedeker and Jim Furyk — the sixth player in PGA Tour history with a 59 — Woods was seven shots back going into the weekend.

Check out video of the penalty below.

Yardbarker

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 185,208 other followers