Bill Belichick Appears to Misinterpret Chris Jones’ Pushing Penalty During Patriots-Jets Post-Game Press Conference

It’s understandable if no one knew what was going on when Chris Jones was flagged for pushing a Patriots defender on the Jets’ overtime field goal. It was the first time the new rule was called this season.

Jones already admitted he did not know the rule, nor did he know what was going on when the flag was thrown. It appears Bill Belichick didn’t fully know the rule either.

Rule 913 states: Team B players cannot push teammates on the line of scrimmage into offensive formation.

“You can’t push from the second level, but I don’t think we did that,” Belichick said.

As stated above, the rule doesn’t say anything about a player from the second level. It’s possible the NFL was not clear when they informed teams about the new rule. But it’s understandable that a player does not know a new rule if his coach appeared to misinterpret it, as well. Belichick argued with referees after the flag was thrown.

To add to the confusion, NFL.com had previously written the rule wrong in a story on its website.

Check out a video of Belichick’s post-game press conference here.

Patriots on Twitter

Yardbarker

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 185,370 other followers