Vote: Do You Think the Unsportsmanlike Conduct Call on Chris Jones Was the Right Call?


1382308087_jets copyA new rule that the NFL implemented this season led to the Patriots’ ultimate downfall against the Jets on Sunday afternoon.

On a missed field goal in overtime, New England’s Chris Jones was flagged for an unsportsmanlike conduct call. During Nick Folk‘s unsuccessful 56-yard attempt, the Patriots rookie received the flag for pushing one of his teammates into a Jets lineman.

Former vice president of officiating for the NFL Mike Pereira¬†took to Twitter to explain the bizarre ruling, stating that Rule 913 says “Team B players cannot push teammates on the line of scrimmage into offensive formation.” The FOX Sports analyst also said that¬†it was the first time the penalty had been called this season.

With the 15-yard penalty, Folk was able to take the field three plays later, but this time from the 42-yard line, and his second kick was good. The controversial whistle ended up being the deciding factor in the Pats loss, but Jones’ actions — according to the rulebook — were illegal. It was a painful way to see the Patriots lose, but do you think the penalty was the right call?

Voice your opinion in the poll below.

© 2016 New England Sports Network


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 264,957 other followers