Henrik Sedin, Not Daniel, Mistakenly Sent To Penalty Box By Ref (Video)

The Vancouver Canucks and Los Angeles Kings racked up a combined 109 penalty minutes Monday night, and the near-constant infractions became a little too much for the officials to keep track of. It also didn’t help that they had to differentiate between two players who quite literally look exactly the same.

Canucks winger Daniel Sedin was whistled for a delayed penalty midway through the second period, but the referee instead sent his twin brother and linemate, Henrik, to the penalty box.

The Sedins wear different uniform numbers and captaincy designations — Daniel, an alternate captain, wears No. 22 while Henrik sports the “C” and No. 33 — but they are otherwise indistinguishable on the ice, making the ref’s miscue a bit more understandable.

Henrik, who opted to serve the penalty regardless, laughed off the mistake when speaking to reporters after the game, which the Kings went on to win 1-0.

“Yeah, I like that though — fantasy points,” he joked.

See Daniel get off scot-free in the video below, with a stick tap to Deadspin.

Yardbarker

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 190,113 other followers