Patriots Elect Five Captains for 2009 Season

The Patriots named five captains for the 2009 season on Thursday. The players on the team made their selections during the last week.

Quarterback Tom Brady and wide receiver Randy Moss will serve as offensive captains. Nose tackle Vince Wilfork and linebacker Jerod Mayo will serve as defensive captains. Wide receiver Sam Aiken will serve as special teams captain.

This season marks the eighth straight season for Brady as an offensive captain, having first been elected in 2002. Moss joins him as an offensive captain for the second straight year.

Wilfork is also a captain for the second straight season, and Mayo will be a captain for the first time in his career.

Aiken will be the Patriots’ special teams captain for the first time.

TMZ logo

© 2019 NESN

NESN Shows

Partner of USATODAY Sports Digital Properties