Jon Morris, Houston Antwine and Sam Cunningham Candidates for Spot in Patriots Hall of Fame


There are 15 current members of the Patriots Hall of Fame, and three more New England legends are hoping to be in the Class of 2010.

Sam Cunningham — the franchise's all-time leading rusher — is on the ballot for the first time, while merger-era maulers Houston Antwine and Jon Morris received their second and third nominations, respectively.

Morris anchored the offensive line from his center position for 11 years, opening holes for Jim Nance, who already has his place in the Pats' Hall of Fame. Morris? seven All-Star selections between the AFL and NFL are the second most in team history behind John Hannah.

Antwine spent most of his time lined up on the other side of the ball from Morris, wreaking havoc on opposing quarterbacks. In his time with the Patriots, Antwine accumulated 39 sacks, leading the team every year from 1967-69.

Cunningham's 5,453 yards on the ground gave him the Patriots' rushing record ahead of Nance, and his 49 touchdowns are good for third on the franchise list.

Fans can vote online for the player they feel is most deserving of a trip to the Hall.

Previous Article

Tim Thomas Sings Rookie Tuukka Rask’s Praises as His Playoff Debut Approaches

Next Article

John Lackey’s Early Success Continues With First Boston ‘W’

Picked For You