Jerry Remy, Dwight Evans and Jo Jo White Among ‘The Tradition’ Honorees


The Sports Museum at the TD Garden has announced the honorees for this summer's ninth annual "The Tradition."

The 1970 Stanley Cup champion Boston Bruins will receive a lifetime achievement award, Red Sox great Dwight Evans will receive the Baseball Legacy Award, Jo Jo White will receive the Basketball Legacy Award, Kristine Lilly will receive the Soccer Legacy Award, Steve Nelson will receive the Football Legacy Award and NESN's Jerry Remy will receive the Media Legacy Award.

The 1970 Boston Bruins brought the Stanley Cup back to Boston for the first time since 1941, thanks to NHL legend Bobby Orr's overtime goal in Game 7.

Evans played 19 seasons with the Red Sox, accumulating 385 home runs and a .272 career batting average. He also won eight Gold Gloves in the outfield.

White, the former Celtics guard, won two championships in Boston in the '70s and played five consecutive seasons without missing a single game.

Lilly is a current member of the Boston Breakers and played on the U.S. women's World Cup and Olympic teams.

Nelson was a three-time Pro Bowl linebacker and helped the 1986 Patriots reach Super Bowl XX.

Remy has been NESN's Red Sox color commentator since 1988 and was inducted into the Red Sox Hall of Fame in 2006.

The Tradition is the annual fundraising event for The Sports Museum, located on the 5th and 6th levels of the TD Garden. The museum is a nonprofit educational institution and features memorabilia and exhibits based on the best of Boston sports.

Tickets are on sale for the June 14 event at the TD Garden.

Previous Article

Blackhawks Thump Canucks 5-1, Advance to Western Conference Finals

Next Article

Chad Ochocinco Reaches ‘Dancing With the Stars’ Semifinals

Picked For You