The Tony La Russa era in St. Louis will continue for another season.

The active leader in managerial wins signed on for a 16th season with the Cards, ending any postseason speculation that 2010 would be his last. The Cardinals announced the decision on Monday, but the contract details were not disclosed, according to the Associated Press.

While his success with the Cardinals has been record-breaking for the franchise, his last three seasons have gone by without a postseason berth. The 2010 season was especially disappointing as the Cards' slide toward the end of the season left them five games behind in both the NL Central and wild card races.

Despite the struggles, La Russa and five other members of the coaching staff have been retained for the 2011 season.

"We are excited to have Tony returning and are looking forward to 2011," St.Louis chairman Bill DeWitt Jr. said, according to the AP. "He has guided the team in one of the greatest eras in Cardinals history and we are pleased that he will continue that leadership next season."

The Cardinals have won eight division titles, two National League pennants and a World Series title in 2006 under La Russa. Ranked third on the MLB managerial wins list, La Russa has 2,638 wins throughout his 32-year tenure managing the White Sox, Athletics and Cardinals.