Aaron Rodgers, Rex Ryan Honored By Pro Football Writers of America For Media Contributions

NEW YORK — Super Bowl MVP Aaron Rodgers and New York Jets coach Rex Ryan were honored Monday by the Pro Football Writers of America.

Rodgers, who led Green Bay to the NFL title, won the Good Guy Award given to the player that best helped the media do their job.

Rodgers' win marks the fourth consecutive year a quarterback took the award and the second straight year it was the winning QB of the Super Bowl. New Orleans' Drew Brees won in 2010, while the two previous recipients were Arizona's Kurt Warner in 2009 and Brett Favre in 2008 after playing the 2007 season with the Packers. He joined the Jets in 2008.

Ryan got the Horrigan Award as the non-player who most helped the media do their job in 2010. The colorful coach makes headlines with almost everything he does, from predicting his team will win the Super Bowl to a starring role in "Hard Knocks" during the 2010 training camp.

Tennessee offensive coordinator Mike Heimerdinger received the Halas Award for overcoming adversity; Heimerdinger continued working last season after being diagnosed with cancer. He did not miss any games.

Longtime Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel reporter Bob McGinn won the McCann Award, given to a reporter with long and distinguished coverage of the NFL. McGinn has covered the Packers for 32 years, including the past 27 full time, and is a five-time Wisconsin state sportswriter of the year.

The Baltimore Ravens got the Rozelle Award for the best public relations department.

TMZ logo

© 2019 NESN

NESN Shows

Partner of USATODAY Sports Digital Properties