Editor's note: Fenway Park opened on April 20, 1912. NESN.com will be celebrating Fenway's 100-year anniversary with unique content from now until April 20, 2012.
Despite a solid 80-72 record and impressive individual seasons from some positional players, the Red Sox missed the playoffs in 1937 and finished fifth in the American League standings.
Three Red Sox hitters (Jimmie Foxx, Joe Cronin, and Pinky Higgins) knocked in at least 100 runs, including 127 by Foxx, who also hit 36 home runs, in one of his better offensive seasons. Pitching, however, was where the Sox struggled. The great Lefty Grove had a solid season, finishing 17-9 with a 3.02 ERA, and Jack Wilson won 16 games on the year, but the Sox suffered with a team ERA of 4.48.
Owner Tom Yawkey made just one notable change to Fenway Park in 1937. Fans were no longer allowed on the field during games — a result of the team taking away the section in right and right-center field where people could stand and enjoy Red Sox baseball.
When there wasn't a Red Sox game being played at Fenway, the park was home to high school tournament baseball, college football, boxing and wrestling. Even NESN's home of Watertown saw its own Watertown High baseball team play ball at Fenway.
For more information on Fenway Park, visit Fenway Park 100.
Powered by WordPress.com VIP