Editor's note: Fenway Park opened on April 20, 1912. NESN.com will be celebrating Fenway?s 100-year anniversary with unique content from now until April 20, 2012.
A brutal five-hour fire blazed through much of the newly renovated outfield bleachers at Fenway Park just a week into 1934.
New owner Tom Yawkey quickly went to work on the stadium, employing union labor to ensure the stadium was renovated by the time the season began just a few months later.
Yawkey's club, thanks to some new additions, made good use of the renovated park, and the Red Sox finished the season with a .500 record, snapping a streak of 16 straight years with a losing record.
Boston took fourth in the AL with a record of 76-76 under first-year manager Bucky Harris.
Roy Johnson and Billy Werber led the offense, hitting .320 and .321, respectively.
By the time 1934 came to a close, Yawkey's total expenditure on his new team totaled around $3 million.
For more information on Fenway Park, visit Fenway Park 100.