Editor’s note: Fenway Park opened on April 20, 1912. NESN.com will be celebrating Fenway’s 100-year anniversary with unique content from now until April 20, 2012.
Fenway Park did some growing in 1989 with the addition of the 600 Club and a revamped press box that allowed for more room for reporters and stadium operators.
The 600 Club was the debut of roughly 600 seats enclosed in glass behind home plate, just below the press box. The seats gave Red Sox fans a new unique perspective of play and were hot sellers at the ticket office almost immediately.
Members of the press were treated by the renovations as well, as the press area expanded to allow more room for writers and broadcasters. The press area also sported an improved control room for the park's video and scoreboards, improving the entertainment quality for fans.
Unfortunately for Sox fans, the 1989 season did not bring with it a playoff berth, as Boston finished 83-79, third in the AL East standings. Wade Boggs again had another strong season, leading the American League in runs and doubles, while Roger Clemens won 17 games and tallied 230 strikeouts on the mound.
For more information on Fenway Park, visit Fenway Park 100.
Powered by WordPress.com VIP