Editor’s note: Fenway Park opened on April 20, 1912. NESN.com will be celebrating Fenway’s 100-year anniversary with unique content from now until April 20, 2012.
A World Series banner was unveiled at Fenway Park for the first time in 86 years when the Red Sox opened defense of their championship in 2005.
The mood was positive around Boston all winter following the Sox' Fall Classic victory, and the team received an added boost on March 23 when the ownership team of John Henry, Tom Werner and Larry Lucchino announced baseball would remain at Fenway for the long term.
The front office made it clear it would continue to improve the then-93-year-old ballpark for the future, which was evidenced by the expansion of the team’s weight room and interview room, as well as the addition of a batting cage in the tunnel between the locker room and the dugout. Also added was a new First Base Deck that added space behind the first base grandstands.
Prior to the team's home opener on April 11, a ceremony was held at Fenway to commemorate the club's 2004 championship. A giant banner that read "2004" hung from the Green Monster, players received commemorative rings and F-16 jets flew overhead. Unfortunately, the club could not repeat as champions and were swept by the White Sox in the ALDS after winning the wild card for the third straight year.
Though postseason play was short-lived, Fenway remained busy throughout the year with events such as the Storybook Ball, the Hot Stove Cool Music Fenway Session concert and two shows by the Rolling Stones.
For more information on Fenway Park, visit Fenway Park 100.
Powered by WordPress.com VIP