Jimmy Vessey, Mary Parker Win Boston Bruins’ 2012 John Carlton Awards; Sportsmanship Award Winners Announced

The Boston Bruins' contributions to their community run far and wide, including awarding standout student athletes at the high school level.

On Tuesday, the B's announced the winners of their 2012 John Carlton Award for academic excellence and exceptional performance on the ice.

This year, the award was given to Jimmy Vesey of North Reading High School and Mary Parker of Noble and Greenough School. Vesey and Parker were each presented with the award during the first intermission of the Bruins' game against the Lightning on Tuesday.

Vesey earned the award by not only scoring 48 goals and tallying 43 assists in 45 games but also by being an honor roll student. He plans to attend Harvard University.

Parker had 61 goals and 48 assists in her 61 games this year and also plans to attend Harvard in the fall.

After Vesey and Parker were presented with the award, the Sportsmanship Award winners were brought on the ice. The Bruins and the Massachusetts Interscholastic Athletics Association have been handing out the award for the past 10 years to one male student athlete and one female student athlete from each ice hockey league in the MIAA. The winners are:

Atlantic Coast League: Cody Murray — East Falmouth
Bay State Conference: Matthew Brown — Norwood
Big Three: Jake Adams — Dartmouth
Boston City League: Anthony Bruno — East Boston
Cape Ann League: Jonathan Gravallese — North Reading
Catholic Central League — Large: Robert Liberge — Lynn
Commonwealth Athletic Conference: Kyle Edmonds — Gloucester
Coughlin Conference: Brandon Hennessy — Stow
Eastern Athletic Conference: Nelson Dickson — Vineyard Haven
Fay Division: Michael Duclos — Greenfield
Greater Boston League: Charlie O'Leary — Somerville
Hennessy League: Cam Loehr — Lee
Hockomock League: Brendan Burns — North Attleboro
Independent schools: Caleb Dalterio — Cotuit
Middlesex League: Brian Gramolini — Belmont
MVC/DCL — Division 1: Pat Houghton — Westford
MVC/DCL — Division 2: Mike O’Brien — Concord
MVC/DCL — Division 3: Max Isberg — Newton
Northeastern Conference (North): Nick Strangie — Danvers
Northeastern Conference (South): Michael Harper — Marblehead
Patriot League: Jack O'Donoghue — Scituate
Roy Conference: Sean Burns — Northborough
South Coast Conference: Tommy Davis — Buzzards Bay
Tri-Valley League: Patrick Williamson — Bellingham

Bay State Conference: Molly McNamara — Wellesley
Catholic Central League: Shealyn Anthony — Reading
Catholic Conference: Emily Lafond — Hanover
Middlesex League: Sara Lehman — Lexington
MVC/DCL: Katie St. George — Newton
SEMGHL (Coastal): Kelsey Powers — Duxbury
SEMGHL (East): Maggie Travers — Scituate
SEMGHL (West): Michelle McNeil — Canton

TMZ logo

© 2019 NESN

NESN Shows

Partner of USATODAY Sports Digital Properties