Maine Forward Spencer Abbott Wins Hockey East Player of Year, Highlights List of Conference Award Winners (Video)


Spencer Abbott had a sensational season for Maine this year, leading the Black Bears to the Hockey East finals for just the first time since 2004.

Abbott scored 20 goals and dished out 39 assists en route to being named the Hockey East Player of the Year this week, becoming the first Maine player to capture the award since Chris Imes in 1995.

Umass-Lowell forward Scott Wilson also made headlines, as the youngster snagged some hardware of his own, being named the Hockey East Rookie of the Year. Wilson scored 16 goals and added 21 assists on the year, as he played outstanding for a potential Frozen Four contender in the Hawks.

Boston College's Barry Almeida and Brian Doumolin also headlined the Hockey East First-Team All-Stars this year.

Check out the video above to see who else took home the awards and was recognized for their tremendous play in the Hockey East this season.

TMZ logo

© 2017 NESN