Joe Sakic, Pavel Bure, Mats Sundin, Adam Oates Named to the Hockey Hall of Fame


Joe Sakic, Pavel Bure, Mats Sundin, Adam Oates Named to the Hockey Hall of FameThe Hockey Hall of Fame added four world class players to its ranks Tuesday with the announcement of Joe Sakic, Pavel Bure, Mats Sundin and Adam Oates as the inductees for 2012.

Sakic ranks in the top ten on the all-time list for points with 1,641. The two-time Stanley Cup Champion also managed to win both the Hart Trophy and the Conn Smythe Trophy during his career with the Colorado Avalanche.

Known as the "Russian Rocket," Bure ranks fifth all-time with .623 goals per game throughout his career. While he struggled with various injuries during his playing days, Bure was one of the most gifted goal-scorers the NHL has ever seen.

Toronto Maple Leafs fans were happy to see Sundin, the longtime Leafs captain, get recognition for his prolific NHL career. Averaging over a point per game during his 20 year NHL career, the former No. 1 overall pick never managed to win a Stanley Cup.

Rounding out the inductees was Oates, who was named head coach of the Washington Capitals earlier on Tuesday. Playing for seven different teams during his NHL career, including the Boston Bruins, Oates sits at 16 on the all-time points list with 1,420.

The most notable omission from the 2012 class was Brendan Shanahan, who was up for vote for the first time. Shanahan collected 1,354 career points but was surrounded by other Hall of Fame teammates, which puts his accomplishments in perspective. He is liekly to be inducted in the near future.

TMZ logo

© 2017 NESN