Patriots Announce 2012 Captains, Which Include Tom Brady, Vince Wilfork, Four OthersThe Patriots' captains will remain unchanged for the 2012 season.

The team on Thursday announced its captains for the upcoming season, and it's the same bunch who held leadership roles in 2011. Tom Brady and Logan Mankins are New England's offensive representatives, while Vince Wilfork, Jerod Mayo and Devin McCourty will serve as the defensive captains. Matthew Slater will represent the Patriots' special teams unit as a captain.

It's not much of a surprise that the Pats voted these six guys as captains again this season, especially considering the team's 2011 march to the Super Bowl. Of the six, McCourty underperformed the most last season, but he'll remain a captain as he looks to regain the playmaking ability that earned him a ton of praise following his rookie campaign in 2010.

The captains will take the field for the first time this season on Sunday, when the Patriots travel to Tennessee to take on the Titans.