On Sept. 21, Jones told the Atlanta Journal-Consititution his feelings on potentially playing in a one-game playoff to determine who plays in the Division Series and who goes home.
"I think it's more fair from a standpoint that anything can happen in one game — a blown call by an umpire, a bad day at the office … at least in a two-of-three game series you have some sort of leeway," said Jones.
As it turned out, anything can happen in one game and a blown call did cost the Braves a chance to play the Nationals in the NLDS.
In the bottom of the eighth inning, left-field umpire Sam Holbrook called Andrelton Simmons out on a fly ball to shallow left field via the infeld fly rule. Cardinals shortstop Pete Cozma looked as if he lost the ball or thought that Matt Holliday was coming in to catch it behind him, not that Holbrook had called an infield fly.
Not only does this end the Braves' 2012 campaign, it also ends the career of Jones as he will retire in the next few weeks.
It might not be too crushing of a blow for Jones, though, as he probably knew it was going to happen.
Check out video of the play below.
Powered by WordPress.com VIP