Vote: Who Is the Greatest Quarterback in NFC South History?


March 11, 2013

NFC SouthEditor’s note: As part of NFL’s Greatest Quarterback, fans will decide the best quarterback in team, division, conference and league history.

Apparently teams in the NFC South don’t have a long history of greatness at quarterback. The winners from the Buccaneers, Falcons, Panthers and Saints are all recent players.

Brad Johnson won out for the Bucs. He’s the only quarterback who has taken Tampa Bay to the Super Bowl, and he won a ring for them in 2002. The runner up was Doug Williams with 31 percent of the vote.

For the Falcons, Matt Ryan took 56 percent. He beat out Steve Bartkowski (27 percent), Michael Vick (11 percent) and Chris Chandler (six percent).

Jake Delhomme took the Panthers to the Super Bowl in 2003, and for that, he was voted the best quarterback in Panthers history with 60 percent. Second-year player Cam Newton finished second with 27 percent.

Finally, Drew Brees beat out Aaron Brooks (25 percent), Archie Manning (four percent) and Bobby Hebert (three percent) as the best quarterback in Saints history.

Now you can vote for the best quarterback in NFC South history. Check out their credentials and decide below.

Brad Johnson: Johnson led the Buccaneers to their lone Super Bowl championship. That season, 2002, Johnson threw for 3,049 yards with 22 touchdowns and just six interceptions. He made his second Pro Bowl that year.

During his four-year career with Tampa Bay, Johnson led the Bucs to a 26-23 record. He threw for 10,940 yards, 64 touchdowns and 41 interceptions.

Matt Ryan: Ryan was drafted No. 3 overall in 2008 and hasn’t missed a start since. He’s led the Falcons to a 56-22 record during his five seasons, and won his first playoff game in 2012 against the Seahawks.

Ryan’s best year came in 2012 when he completed 68.6 percent of his passes. He had 32 touchdowns to 14 interceptions with 4,719 yards through the air.

Jake Delhomme: Delhomme is the career leader in passing for the Panthers. He’s also led the Panthers to their only Super Bowl in 2003. That team lost to the Patriots 32-29.

The Panthers went 53-37 during Delhomme’s seven seasons in Carolina. That included 10-5, 11-5 and 12-4 seasons. Delhomme made one Pro Bowl during his time in the NFL, in 2005. He threw for 3,421 yards with 24 touchdowns and 16 interceptions that season.

Drew Brees: The Chargers let Brees test free agency in 2006 and the rest is history. He’s made six Pro Bowls since and led the Saints to their first Super Bowl victory. Brees broke the single-season passing record in 2011 with 5,476 yards. He added 46 touchdowns and completed 71.2 percent of his passes.

During his time in New Orleans, the Saints have gone 69-42. Brees is the Saints’ franchise passing leader with 33,571 yards. The Purdue product is a two-time AP Offensive Player of the Year.

Previous Article

College Student Sinks $50,000 Half-Court Shot, Doesn’t Win Prize Due to Rules Violation (Video)

Next Article

Chipper Jones ‘Flattered’ by Interest in Retirement, But Says He Prefers Being Bad Golfer

Picked For You