College Football Playoff to Be Named ‘College Football Playoff,’ Championship to Be Held at Cowboys Stadium in 2015


Cowboys StadiumWhoever was in charge of naming the college football playoff, they’re obviously a very creative person or body.

The name of the four-team playoff will be the College Football Playoff, according to ESPN’s Brett McMurphy. The 2014 season marks the first campaign with a playoff, and college football’s champion will be crowned at Cowboys Stadium on Jan. 12, 2015. Tampa, Fla., was the only other city that bid for the game.

In addition to the final, the playoff itself means that a new rotation of stadiums will be put in place for the semifinal. That means some bowl games will now be part of the playoff system. The six bowls to be a part of the playoff are the Rose Bowl, the Sugar Bowl, the Orange Bowl, the Cotton Bowl, the Fiesta Bowl and the Chick-fil-A Bowl.

The official vote and announcement will be made on Wednesday at the Langham Hotel in Pasadena, Calif., the site of the Rose Bowl stadium. However, the creative name for the playoff was announced on Tuesday.

“We decided to call the playoff what it is — the College Football Playoff,” said BCS executive director Bill Hancock. “We think the new playoff will be the most dynamic improvement to college football in a generation. Certainly, it’s what the fans want. We also invite everyone to vote online to select the logo and help us kick off the new College Football Playoff.”

While the playoff rotation will remain in place through at least 2026, bids for the 2016 and 2017 championship games will be placed over the summer.

Photo via Facebook/Cowboys Stadium

Photo of the Day

It doesn’t matter if you can juggle. No, peanut vendor, you are not allowed to look cool.

Brewers Padres Baseball

Tweet of the Day

Sounds more like reality TV. Either way, we would most definitely watch.

Video of the Day

Bet he can’t do that again.

TMZ logo

© 2017 NESN