Tedy Bruschi, Chuck Fairbanks, Leon Gray Named Finalists for 2013 Patriots Hall of Fame


The Patriots have announced three finalists for the team’s Hall of Fame class of 2013.

The trio includes Super Bowl champion linebacker Tedy Bruschi, former head coach Chuck Fairbanks and three-time All-Pro offensive tackle Leon Gray. This year’s selection will join legendary announcer Gil Santos in the class of 2013 and become the 21st member of the hallowed Patriots Hall of Fame.

Bruschi gets the nomination just four years after retiring from the team. He is an all-time fan favorite, leaving a legacy that included three Super Bowl titles, eight division championships, two All-Pro selections and one Pro Bowl appearance in 13 seasons with the team.

Fairbanks was the franchise’s sixth head coach, leading the team to a 46-39 record and two playoff appearances from 1973 to 1978. He drafted two Pro Football Hall of Famers during his tenure in guard John Hannah and cornerback Michael Haynes. He also introduced the 3-4 base defense during his time with the team, which is easily his greatest accomplishment.

Gray was actually one of Fairbanks’ first signings, agreeing to a deal with the rookie at the beginning of the 1973 season. He stayed in New England through the 1978 season before moving on to New Orleans in free agency. He was widely considered the best left tackle in football during his Patriots career and enjoyed two of his four Pro Bowl selections while with the team.

Check out a list of the other members of the Patriots Hall of Fame below.

John Hannah (1991)
Nick Buoniconti (1992)
Gino Cappelletti (1992)
Bob Dee (1993)
Jim Lee Hunt (1993)
Steve Nelson (1993)
Vito “Babe” Parilli (1993)
Mike Haynes (1994)
Steve Grogan (1995)
Andre Tippett (1999)
Bruce Armstrong (2001)
Stanley Morgan (2007)
Ben Coates (2008)
Jim Nance (2009)
Sam Cunningham (2010)
Drew Bledsoe (2011)
Jon Morris (2011)
Troy Brown (2012)


William H. “Billy” Sullivan, Jr. (2009)
Gil Santos (2013)

Have a question for Luke Hughes? Send it to him via Twitter at @LukeFHughes or send it here.

TMZ logo

© 2017 NESN