The NHL announced its new division alignment Friday afternoon, effective for the 2013-14 season.

After years of six divisions across the Eastern and Western conferences, the new division alignment trims down to four divisions. The Atlantic and Metropolitan divisions will operate in the Eastern Conference, while the Pacific and Central divisions make up the Western Conference.

The Bruins will play in the Atlantic Division, which also includes Buffalo, Detroit, Florida, Montreal, Ottawa, Tampa Bay and Toronto.

The Metropolitan Division will include Carolina, Columbus, New Jersey, both New York teams, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh and Washington.

In the Western Conference, the Central Division will be made up of Chicago, Colorado, Dallas, Minnesota, Nashville, St. Louis and Winnipeg. The Pacific Division includes Anaheim, Calgary, Edmonton, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Jose and Vancouver.