Boston, Hockey East to Host 2015 Frozen Four at TD Garden

The Frozen Four will be returning to Boston in 2015.

The NCAA announced Wednesday that the annual Division I men’s hockey championship will be held at TD Garden next season, the first time the arena has hosted the Frozen Four since 2004. The event will be hosted by the Hockey East conference as a whole, rather than by one individual school.

Hockey East has been represented by at least one team in six of the last seven Frozen Fours, with HE schools winning four national championships during that span (three by Boston College, one by Boston University).

Boston has hosted the Frozen Four six times since the tournament’s inception in 1948, with Denver (over Maine in 2004) and Michigan (over BC in 1998) winning the previous two. BU is the only Hockey East school to win a championship in Boston, defeating Cornell in the 1972 final.

The 2016, 2017 and 2018 Frozen Fours were also awarded Wednesday to Tampa, Chicago and St. Paul, respectively. This season’s will be held in Philadelphia from April 10-12.

TMZ logo

© 2019 NESN

Partner of USATODAY Sports Digital Properties