New England Patriots Sign Sam McGuffie, Six Other Players To Future Contracts


Sam McGuffieFOXBORO, Mass. — The New England Patriots want to keep most of their practice-squad players around for next season.

The Patriots signed seven of the eight practice squad players that were on the team’s roster at the end of the season to future contracts. The Patriots signed running back Sam McGuffie, wide receivers Greg Orton and Reggie Dunn, offensive tackles Jordan Devey and R.J. Mattes, center Braxton Cave and linebacker Jordan Reed. Defensive tackle Marcus Forston was the only practice-squad player the team did not sign to a future contract.

The Patriots already signed running back Jonas Gray to a future contract. A player can sign a future contract if he did not finish the season on a 53-man roster. The players are signed for the 2014 season, even though it has not officially begun.

Have a question for Doug Kyed? Send it to him via Twitter at @DougKyedNESN or send it here.

TMZ logo

© 2017 NESN