Patrick Kane, Ryan Suter Headline United States Men’s Hockey Roster For 2014 Winter Olympics


Vancouver Olympics Ice HockeyThe United States roster for men’s hockey at the 2014 Winter Olympics in Sochi was announced on Wednesday after the Toronto Maple Leafs beat the Detroit Red Wings 3-2 in the 2014 Winter Classic at the University of Michigan.

The final roster is headlined by Chicago Blackhawks winger and reigning Conn Smythe Trophy winner Patrick Kane, who’s one of 13 players returning from the 2010 squad that lost to Canada in the gold medal game at the Vancouver Games.

The roster was constructed by Nashville Predators general manager David Poile, who received input from several other front office men around the league, including Pittsburgh Penguins GM Ray Shero.

Based on the fact that an Olympic ice surface is wider and longer than what’s used in NHL rinks, it was important that Poile made sure the U.S. roster has enough speed, quickness and skating ability to compete with other gold-medal contenders that have more players with experience competing on larger sheets of ice in international tournaments.

Team USA has never won a gold medal in men’s hockey at an Olympics played outside of North America.

Here’s the complete U.S. roster:


Jonathan Quick (Los Angeles Kings), Ryan Miller (Buffalo Sabres) Jimmy Howard (Detroit Red Wings)


Ryan Suter (Minnesota Wild), Kevin Shattenkirk (St. Louis Blues), Ryan McDonagh (New York Rangers), Cam Fowler (Anaheim Ducks), John Carlson (Washington Capitals), Justin Faulk (Carolina Hurricanes), Brooks Orpik (Pittsburgh Penguins), Paul Martin (Pittsburgh Penguins)


Patrick Kane (Chicago Blackhawks), Zach Parise (Minnesota Wild), Max Pacioretty (Montreal Canadiens), James van Riemsdyk (Toronto Maple Leafs), Phil Kessel (Toronto Maple Leafs), Ryan Kesler (Vancouver Canucks), Joe Pavelski (San Jose Sharks), David Backes (St. Louis Blues), Dustin Brown (Los Angeles Kings), Paul Stastny (Colorado Avalanche), Ryan Callahan (New York Rangers), Blake Wheeler (Winnipeg Jets), T.J. Oshie (St. Louis Blues), Derek Stepan (New York Rangers)

Coaching Staff (Announced over the summer)

Dan Bylsma (head coach), Peter Laviolette (assistant), Todd Richards (assistant), Tony Granato (assistant)

TMZ logo

© 2017 NESN