Selection Sunday Live: Florida, Arizona, Wichita State, Virginia Earn No. 1 Seeds

selectionsunday6:35 p.m.: The fourth and final No. 1 seed is Virginia. The Cavaliers topped Duke in the finals of the ACC Tournament to add a conference title to its regular-season championship. Virginia hasn’t lost in regulation since Jan. 13.

Virginia will face No. 16 Coastal Carolina.

No. 8 Memphis will meet No. 9 George Washington, which topped Creighton earlier this season.

No. 5 Cincinnati will play No. 12 Harvard. It is the Crimson’s third straight NCAA appearance.

No. 4 Michigan State, which started the season 18-1, will face No. 13 Delaware.

No. 2 Villanova won its first outright Big East regular-season title and will meet No. 15 Wisconsin-Milwaukee, which won the Horizon League championship.

No. 7 UConn will meet No. 10 Saint Joseph’s, which returns to the tournament after a six-year absence.

No. 3 Iowa State won the Big 12 tournament title and will meet No. 14 N.C. Central.

No. 6 North Carolina will meet No. 11 Providence.

6:29 p.m.: The East Region will be unveiled next. Three down, one to go.

6:26 p.m.: The third No. 1 seed goes to Wichita State out of the Missouri Valley Conference. The Shockers went 34-0 on the season. It is the school’s first overall No. 1 seed, and for the first time since 1991, a team enters the Big Dance with an undefeated record.

The red-hot Shockers will face the first-round winner between Cal Poly and Texas Southern.

No. 8 Kentucky, which lost to top-ranked Florida in the SEC Tournament final, will face No. 9 Kansas State.

No. 5 Saint Louis, which won the Atlantic-10 regular season title, will face the winner of N.C. State and Xavier.

No. 4 Louisville, the defending national champion, might be a little shocked by its seeding but will face No. 13 Manhattan.

No. 2 Michigan, which just moments ago fell to Michigan State for the Big Ten title, will take on No. 15 Wofford.

No. 7 Texas will meet No. 10 Arizona State.

No. 3 Duke will face No. 14 Mercer.

No. 6 UMass will appear in its first NCAA tournament since 1998 and will take on the winner of Iowa and Tennessee.

To say this region is stacked would be a gross understatement.

6:20: p.m. The Midwest Region will be revealed next.

6:10 p.m.: Arizona receives the No. 1 seed in the West Region despite losing to UCLA in the Pac-12 title game Saturday.

It is Arizona’s sixth No. 1 seed and first since 2003. The Wildcats finished the regular season 28-3 and went 15-3 in conference play. They’ll face No. 16 Weber State in the first round.

No. 8 Gonzaga, in its 16th straight NCAA appearance, will meet No. 9 Oklahoma State.

No. 5 Oklahoma, which finished second in the Big 12 this season, will take on No. 12 North Dakota State, which won the Summit League championship.

No. 4 San Diego State will meet No. 13 New Mexico State, which advances to its third straight NCAA Tournament.

No. 2 Wisconsin will face No. 15 American out of the Patriot League.

No. 7 Oregon enters the tournament having won eight of its last nine games and will face No. 10 BYU, which lost the West Coast Conference Tournament final to Gonzaga.

The No. 3 Creighton Blue Jays will take on No. 14 Louisiana-Lafayette, which will make its first NCAA Tournament appearance since 2005.

No. 6 Baylor will meet No. 11 Nebraska. It is the Cornhuskers’ first appearance since 1998.

6:08 p.m.: The West Region is coming up next.

6:05 p.m: No. 8 Colorado will face No. 9 Pittsburgh.

No. 5 VCU will face No. 12 Stephen F. Austin.

No. 4 UCLA will take on the 13th-seeded Tulsa Golden Hurricane. Tulsa has topped UCLA in their past two meetings, including a stunner in the 1994 NCAA Tournament.

No. 2 Kansas will face No. 15 Eastern Kentucky.

No. 7 New Mexico will face No. 10 Stanford.

No. 3 Syracuse will face No. 14 Western Michigan.

No. 6 Ohio State will take on No. 11 Dayton.

6:05 p.m.: We’ll get things started with the South Region, where the No. 1 seed is Florida. The Gators captured the SEC title over Kentucky earlier today and will enter the tournament riding a 26-game winning streak. They’ll play the winner of the first-round matchup between Albany and Mount St. Mary’s.

6 p.m.: We are ready to get underway. Thirty-two teams receive automatic berths, while 36 will receive at-large bids. Let’s do this.

3:30 p.m.: Selection Sunday finally is here.

In one of the most highly anticipated hours of the college basketball season, the field of 68 NCAA Tournament teams will be announced at 6 p.m. on CBS.

All eyes will be glued to TV screens as the teams find out who’s in, who’s out and who will be the No. 1 seeds. Florida, Arizona State and Wichita State are all locks for the top seeds, but the fourth one remains somewhat of a mystery.

The four No. 1 seeds will be revealed before each region is unveiled one at a time, so keep it here on and we’ll keep you up to date on which teams will be dancing, which ones will be heading to the NIT and which ones will be watching the madness from home.

Photo via Twitter/@wjxt4

TMZ logo

© 2019 NESN

NESN Shows

Partner of USATODAY Sports Digital Properties