Meb Keflezighi, Rita Jeptoo Among 118th Boston Marathon Winners

by NESN Staff

April 21, 2014

meb marathonThe 118th running of the Boston Marathon was a momentous occasion for the city, but it also was an important day for the world-class runners trying to win one of the most revered races.

Meb Keflezighi won the Elite Men?s division, becoming the first American to claim the Boston Marathon since 1983.

Rita Jeptoo of Kenya claimed the women’s title for the second year in a row. She also won it in 2006.

Another notable finisher was Shalane Flanagan, a Marblehead, Mass., native who came in seventh after leading for more than half the race.

Here is the full list of Boston Marathon winners and their official times:

Elite Men?s division: Meb Keflezighi (2:08:37)

Elite Women?s division: Rita Jeptoo (2:18:57)

Men?s Wheelchair division: Ernst Van Dyk (1:20:36)

Women?s Wheelchair division: Tatyana McFadden (1:35:06)

Men?s Handcycle division: Samuel Spencer (1:18:34)

Women?s Handcycle division: Jessica A. Kensky (2:14:13)

Photo via Twitter/@USAToday

Previous Article

New York City FC To Call Yankee Stadium ‘Home’ In 2015

Next Article

Boston Red Sox Still Playing Big Role In City’s Ongoing Healing Process

Picked For You