Ty Law, Bill Parcells Among 2014 Patriots Hall of Fame Finalists


Ty LawThe 2014 Patriots Hall of Fame finalists represent three eras of New England football.

Cornerbacks Ty Law and Raymond Clayborn and head coach Bill Parcells have been selected as finalists for the Patriots Hall of Fame. Fans will determine the inductee by voting on Patriots.com. Voting will end May 15, and the selection will be announced in early June.

Clayborn was selected by the Patriots 16th overall in the 1977 NFL draft. He played with the team until 1989, made three Pro Bowls and had 36 interceptions during his 13 years in New England. Clayborn recovered a fumble in the Patriots’ Super Bowl XX loss to the Chicago Bears.

Parcells coached for the Patriots from 1993 to 1996 and took the team to Super Bowl XXXI, which they lost 35-21 to the Green Bay Packers. Parcells helped start the relationship between Bill Belichick and owner Robert Kraft by hiring the future Patriots head coach as assistant head coach and secondary coach in 1996. The Patriots went 32-32 during their four years under Parcells.

Law was drafted No. 23 overall by the Patriots in 1995. He made the Pro Bowl four times as a Patriot and was named an All-Pro twice. Law was on all three Super Bowl-winning teams for the Patriots. He had a key pick-six in the Patriots’ Super Bowl XXXVI win over the St. Louis Rams, and his three interceptions against the Indianapolis Colts in the 2003 AFC Championship Game vaulted New England into Super Bowl XXXVIII.

The Hall of Fame induction ceremony is free and open to fans. It likely will take place during training camp at Patriot Place.

TMZ logo

© 2017 NESN