Yunel Escobar struck out Tuesday night on a 4-2 count.
That’s right, a 4-2 count.
The confusion in the Minnesota Twins-Tampa Bay Rays game began when Escobar appeared to foul-tip a pitch past the catcher, but he actually didn’t make contact with the baseball. The Rays shortstop’s at-bat continued until the count was full, at which point the umpires convened in an attempt to sort out what the actual count should be.
The umps went to instant replay, then still declared the count was full after review.
Escobar ended up striking out after he should have been awarded first base. Major League Baseball acknowledged the mistake in a statement following the game, but Escobar must wish the error could have been corrected the first time.
Watch the confusion in the video below.
[mlbvideo id=”32292749″ width=”640″ height=”358″ /]