Turns out that David Ortiz ended Yu Darvish’s no-hitter earlier than initially ruled.
The Boston Red Sox slugger got his wish Wednesday when Major League Baseball changed the official scoring on his blooper during Friday’s 8-0 loss from an error to a single.
In the seventh inning of the game, Ortiz flared a fly ball that fell to the grass in shallow right field after a miscommunication between Texas Rangers second baseman Rougned Odor and right fielder Alex Rios.
Odor appeared to be camped under the ball but moved out of the way at the last second, expecting Rios to make the play. The ball did not touch either player’s glove. The play was ruled an error at the time and kept a no-hitter alive for Darvish, who had retired his first 20 Red Sox batters up to that point.
Ortiz disagreed with the official ruling after the game and sent in a request for the league to review the play. Big Papi took matters into his own hands during the game, singling to break up Darvish’s no-hit bid with two outs in the ninth inning.
Check out a video of the play in question below.
[mlbvideo id=”32751773″ width=”640″ height=”360″ /]