U.S. To Host Copa America In 2016, As CONCACAF, CONMEBOL Join Forces

Jeffrey Webb and Eugenio FigueredoMIAMI BEACH, Fla. — The United States will host the Copa America soccer tournament for the first time in 2016.

The 16-nation tournament will be held from June 3-26, and U.S. cities will bid to host the games. Locations will be announced at a later date.

The U.S. and Mexico, in the CONCACAF region, will compete. All 10 national teams will compete from South America — Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela.

The CONCACAF region of North and Central America and the Caribbean will have four other teams competing based on standings and playoffs.

The Copa America, the world’s oldest intercontinental soccer tournament, will celebrate its 100th anniversary in 2016.

Have a soccer question? Send it to us via Twitter at @NESNsoccer, NESN Soccer’s Facebook page or send it here.

TMZ logo

© 2018 NESN

Partner of USATODAY Sports Digital Properties