2014 NHL Awards: Bruins’ Patrice Bergeron, Tuukka Rask Take Home Hardware


Patrice Bergeron and Tuukka Rask will soon bring home new additions to their trophy cases.

These two players were among the Boston Bruins recognized for their individual accomplishments during the 2013-14 regular season at the 2014 NHL Awards ceremony Tuesday night in Las Vegas.

Bergeron won the Selke Trophy as the best defensive forward in the NHL. He’s become the fifth player to win this award multiple times (he also won in 2011-12). It’s the third time that a Bruin has won (Steve Kasper was the first in 1982).

The Bruins center won the award by a wide margin over finalists Anze Kopitar of the Los Angeles Kings and Jonathan Toews of the Chicago Blackhawks.

Bq7p6IRCUAANtmy.png_largeBergeron was the clear choice for the award. He ranked fourth in faceoffs taken (1,732), first in draws won (1,015) and sixth in faceoff win percentage (58.4) among players who took 500-plus draws.

His excellent defense helped Boston finish eighth in penalty killing and second in goals against average. In addition to his defensive success, Bergeron reached the 30-goal mark for the second time in his career.

Bergeron also won the NHL Foundation Award for his community service.

Rask won the Vezina Trophy as the league’s most outstanding goaltender:

He was only goalie to rank among the league’s top five in shutouts (1st – 7), save percentage (2nd – .930), goals against average (4th – 2.04) and wins (5th – 36). He helped the Bruins win the Presidents’ Trophy with the league’s best record in the regular season.

Bruins captain Zdeno Chara was a finalist for the Norris Trophy, which is given to the best all-around defenseman. Chara enjoyed one of his best seasons from an offensive standpoint and dominated defensively against opponents’ top forwards. This was the sixth time Chara had been a finalist for this award, and this time he finished second behind Duncan Keith of the Chicago Blackhawks.

Click here for a recap of all the 2014 NHL Awards>>>

TMZ logo

© 2017 NESN