NHL Awards 2014 Live: Patrice Bergeron Wins Selke Trophy, Tuukka Rask Wins Vezina Trophy


9:00 p.m. ET: Sidney Crosby has won the Hart Trophy as league MVP after leading the league in scoring and helping Pittsburgh win the Metropolitan Division.

[tweet https://twitter.com/Sean_Leahy/status/481602719757529088 align=”center”]

8:50 p.m. ET: Boston Bruins goaltender Tuukka Rask has won the Vezina Trophy, which is given to the most outstanding netminder.

[tweet https://twitter.com/PR_NHL/status/481601459830915072 align=”center”]

He finished the season with a 36-15-6 record, a .930 save percentage, a 2.04 goals against average and a league-leading seven shutouts.

[tweet https://twitter.com/mirtle/status/481600577747423232 align=”center”]

8:45 p.m. ET: Bob Murray of the Anaheim Ducks has won the General Manager of the Year Award. The Ducks finished with the best record in the Western Conference during the regular season.

Bruins general manager Peter Chiarelli finished sixth in the voting.

8:35 p.m. ET: Ryan O’Reilly has won the Lady Byng Trophy for sportsmanship combined with a high level of performance. He’s the second player ever to tally two or fewer penalty minutes in 80-plus games played.

[tweet https://twitter.com/Sean_Leahy/status/481597406237036544 align=”center”]

8:21 p.m. ET: Patrick Roy has won the Jack Adams Award as the coach of the year. The Colorado Avalanche bench boss helped his team finish with the second-best record in the Western Conference and a Central Division title just one season after finishing with the second-worst record in the league.

[tweet https://twitter.com/PR_NHL/status/481593826768089090 align=”center”]

Bruins head coach Claude Julien finished fourth in the voting.

8:15 p.m. ET: Duncan Keith has won the Norris Trophy as the league’s best all-around defenseman. The Chicago Blackhawks veteran led all defensemen in assists and finished second in scoring.

Bruins captain Zdeno Chara and Nashville Predators captain Shea Weber were the other two finalists.

[tweet https://twitter.com/mirtle/status/481591380305670144 align=”center”]

Los Angeles Kings captain Dustin Brown also won the Mark Messier Leadership Award.

7:55 p.m. ET: Boston Bruins center Patrice Bergeron has won the NHL Foundation Award for community service.

[tweet https://twitter.com/NHLBruins/status/481587848312008704 align=”center”]

Screen Shot 2014-06-24 at 7.56.48 PM

7:52 p.m. ET: Edmonton Oilers defenseman and captain Andrew Ference has won the King Clancy Memorial Trophy for contributions in the community.

[tweet https://twitter.com/dafoomie/status/481585769342324736 align=”center”]

7:50 p.m. ET: Here’s a recap of tonight’s winners so far:

Ted Lindsay Award — Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh

Frank J. Selke Trophy — Patrice Bergeron, Boston

Bill Masterton Trophy — Dominic Moore, New York

Calder Trophy — Nathan MacKinnon, Colorado

7:40 p.m. ET: Nathan MacKinnon of the Colorado Avalanche has won the Calder Trophy as the rookie of the year. The No. 1 pick in the 2013 NHL draft led all rookies in scoring, goals, assists and game-winning goals. He’s a future superstar and was the clear choice for this award.

MacKinnon actually is the youngest player ever to win the Calder, and he’s the first Avalanche player to win this trophy since Gabriel Landeskog in 2011-12.

Bruins defenseman Torey Krug finished fourth in the voting.

[tweet https://twitter.com/erlendssonTBO/status/481583060597493761 align=”center”]

7:35 p.m. ET: Dominic Moore has won the Bill Masterton Trophy. The award is given to the player who shows incredible dedication and perseverance.

[tweet https://twitter.com/PLeonardNYDN/status/481582535651360768 align=”center”]

[tweet https://twitter.com/dafoomie/status/481581396470018050 align=”center”]

7:23 p.m. ET: The Frank J. Selke Trophy, given to the best defensive forward, has been won by Boston Bruins center Patrice Bergeron.

[tweet https://twitter.com/PR_NHL/status/481580754737332225 align=”center”]

This is the second time Bergeron has won the award. It’s the third time a Bruins player has won it (Steve Kasper in 1982, Bergeron in 2011-12 and 2013-14). Bergeron received 112 first-place votes, 82 more than Anze Kopitar in second place. To find out why Bergeron was the easy choice for this award, click here.

Screen Shot 2014-06-24 at 7.24.19 PM

7:10 p.m. ET: The Ted Lindsay Award is the first to be presented tonight. It is awarded to the most outstanding player of the season and is voted on by the members of the NHL Players’ Association.

To no surprise, Sidney Crosby of the Pittsburgh Penguins is the winner. It’s the third time he’s won this trophy. Anaheim Ducks center Ryan Getzlaf and Philadelphia Flyers center Claude Giroux were the other finalists.

Crosby led the NHL in scoring and helped the Penguins win the Metropolitan Division despite many injuries to key players throughout the season.

[tweet https://twitter.com/myregularface/status/481574928429219840 align=”center”]

7:00 p.m. ET: Tuukka Rask was having some fun before the ceremony with a game of bubble hockey.

[tweet https://twitter.com/PeteBlackburn/status/481569029883428865 align=”center”]

5:30 p.m. ET: The NHL’s best have gathered in sunny Las Vegas for the annual end-of-the-year awards ceremony where some of the coolest trophies in sports will be handed out to the top hockey players on the planet.

This year’s awards races weren’t that competitive, but there still might be some surprises for the fans (the Norris Trophy winner is anyone’s guess).

Check back to this blog at 7 p.m. ET for live updates, a complete list of awards winners, instant reaction and highlights of the event.

While you’re waiting, check out NESN.com’s NHL awards predictions.

Previous Article

L.A. Kings Goalie Jonathan Quick Has Wrist Surgery, Out 10-12 Weeks

Next Article

Bruins’ Patrice Bergeron Wins ‘NHL 15’ Cover Vote Over P.K. Subban

Picked For You