Roy Finch, Akeem DavisThe New England Patriots have whittled their team to an initial 53-man roster.

The Patriots announced Saturday that they released guard Jon Halapio, fullback/linebacker Taylor McCuller, safeties Shamiel Gary and Kanorris Davis, wide receivers Josh Boyce and Jeremy Gallon, cornerback Daxton Swanson, linebackers Steve Beauharnais and Ja’Gared Davis, defensive end Jake Bequette, tight end Steve Maneri, defensive tackles Jerel Worthy, L.T. Tuipulotu and Eathyn Manumaleuna, running backs Jonas Gray and Roy Finch, center Braxston Cave, long snapper Danny Aiken and offensive tackle Chris Martin.

The Patriots also placed cornerback Brandon Browner and wide receiver Brian Tyms on the reserve/suspended list. Both players will start the season with four-game bans. Linebacker James Morris, who injured his knee Thursday night against the New York Giants, was placed on injured reserve.

Expect more roster moves Sunday, as the Patriots are allowed to sign 10 players to their practice squad. The Patriots also can claim players placed on waivers from other teams. The remaining players on the Patriots’ 53-man roster can breathe easy for today, but they still could be cut before New England’s Week 1 matchup against the Miami Dolphins.

Check out the Patriots’ initial 53-man roster:

QB: Tom Brady, Ryan Mallett, Jimmy Garoppolo
RB: Stevan Ridley, Shane Vereen, James White, Brandon Bolden
WR: Julian Edelman, Danny Amendola, Aaron Dobson, Kenbrell Thompkins, Brandon LaFell, Matthew Slater
TE: Rob Gronkowski, Tim Wright, Michael Hoomanawanui, James Develin
OL: Nate Solder, Sebastian Vollmer, Ryan Wendell, Dan Connolly, Marcus Cannon, Jordan Devey, Bryan Stork, Cameron Fleming, Chris Barker, Josh Kline
DL: Chandler Jones, Rob Ninkovich, Zach Moore, Michael Buchanan, Vince Wilfork, Sealver Siliga, Chris Jones, Joe Vellano, Dominique Easley
LB: Jerod Mayo, Dont’a Hightower, Jamie Collins, Darius Fleming, Chris White
CB: Darrelle Revis, Alfonzo Dennard, Logan Ryan, Kyle Arrington, Malcolm Butler
Safety: Devin McCourty, Duron Harmon, Patrick Chung, Tavon Wilson, Nate Ebner
Special Teams: Stephen Gostkowski (kicker), Ryan Allen (punter)
Suspended: Brandon Browner, Brian Tyms