South Korea Defeats Chicago To Win 2014 Little League World Series

by NESN Staff

August 24, 2014

SouthKoreaSouth Korea won its third Little World Series title and first since 1985 with an 8-4 victory over Jackie Robinson West (Chicago) in Sunday’s championship game.

Korea’s victory marks the fourth time in the last five tournaments that an international team has claimed the title. Huntington Beach, Calif., was the last United States team to win the LLWS.

Jae Yeong Hwang was the star of the game for Korea. He drove in two runs and struck out four over two innings of shutout ball.

Korea built an 8-1 lead and showed impressive poise by securing the win after a late-game rally from Chicago.

Photo via Twitter/@ESPN

Previous Article

Report: Tommy Kelly, Will Smith, James Anderson Released By Patriots

Next Article

Jermaine Jones Joins Revolution; U.S. Star Scored Big World Cup Goal

Picked For You