A.J. Pierzynski Flopped During Game 4 Of NLCS For Some Reason (GIF)

Flopping is a common occurrence in soccer and basketball. There are opportunities to do it in football, and hockey has it under a different name. Baseball is the only major North American sport in which players don’t really need to flop.

Unless you’re A.J. Pierzynski.

During the second inning of Game 4 of the National League Championship Series, San Francisco Giants outfielder Travis Ishikawa struck out swinging, and the St. Louis Cardinals catcher inexplicably fell backward and looked to the umpire for some foreign call.

AJ Pierzynski flop

While Ishikawa’s bat seems to graze Pierzynski’s helmet, it’s completely unclear what the former Boston Red Sox catcher was trying to accomplish there. It’s not as though he can draw a foul, and his reaction to being hit was noticeably late.

It looks like we’ll have to just chalk this one up to the unpredictability of the MLB postseason.

H/t to The Big Lead
GIF via Twitter/@CJZero
Thumbnail photo via Kyle Terada/USA TODAY Sports Images

TMZ logo

© 2019 NESN

NESN Shows

Partner of USATODAY Sports Digital Properties