Patriots’ Rob Gronkowski Wins 2014 NFL Comeback Player Of The Year


PHOENIX — New England Patriots tight end Rob Gronkowski has won The Associated Press NFL Comeback Player Of The Year award for 2014.

Gronkowski easily outdistanced seven others receiving votes from a nationwide panel of 50 media members who regularly cover the league.

The unanimous All-Pro received 27 selections, followed by Philadelphia Eagles receiver Jeremy Maclin and Dallas Cowboys linebacker Rolando McClain with seven apiece. Denver Broncos cornerback Chris Harris Jr. had three votes, while running backs Justin Forsett of the Baltimore Ravens and Arian Foster of the Houston Texans drew two. Arizona Cardinals linebacker Larry Foote and Buffalo Bills quarterback Kyle Orton each got one.

Gronkowski was limited to seven games in 2013 because of knee problems. He returned in style — that style being powerful, aggressive and tough — to make 82 catches for 1,124 yards and 12 touchdowns.

The award was presented at the “NFL Honors” show Saturday night.

Click here for a list of NFL awards winners >>

Thumbnail photo via Greg M. Cooper/USA TODAY Sports Images

Previous Article

Bruins Defeat Kings 3-1, Finish January With Impressive 8-1-3 Record

Boston Bruins goaltender Tuukka Rask
Next Article

Bruins Goaltender Tuukka Rask Regains Top Form In Stellar January

Picked For You