Mike Carey Gets Another Call Wrong On Disputed Panthers Incomplete Pass

by NESN Staff

February 7, 2016

One Super Bowl 50 prop bet was whether or not CBS analyst Mike Carey, a former NFL official, would get a call wrong during Sunday’s broadcast.

It took less than a quarter for that to happen.

Carolina Panthers receiver Jerricho Cotchery appeared to make an acrobatic first-down catch, but it was ruled an incomplete pass on the field. The Panthers challenged the call, but the ruling was upheld.

While the play was being reviewed at Levi’s Stadium, Carey went on-air and said it should be ruled a catch. And plenty of high-profile former and current football players and analysts agreed with him.

But the league disagreed, and NFL vice president of officiating Dean Blandino explained why on Twitter.

Even when the Internet agrees with Carey, he’s still wrong.

Thumbnail photo via Robert Hanashiro/USA TODAY Sports Images

Thumbnail photo via Carolina Panthers wide receiver Jerricho Cotchery
Von Miller sacks Cam Newton in Super Bowl 50
Previous Article

Von Miller Rips Ball From Cam Newton’s Grasp; Broncos Recover It For TD (Video)

Carolina Panthers middle linebacker Luke Kuechly
Next Article

Luke Kuechly Destroys Demaryius Thomas With Vicious Hit In Super Bowl (Video)

Picked For You