Did MLB’s New Slide Rule Break Up Red Sox Rally? Xander Bogaerts Explains

Major League Baseball’s new takeout slide rule hasn’t come without controversy, and another play was added to the laundry list Thursday at Fenway Park.

In the midst of a rally, Xander Bogaerts slid into second on a routine groundball that should have gone for a double play with David Ortiz running to first. Instead, Atlanta Braves shortstop Erick Aybar received the ball at second but never touched the bag, so umpire Joe West signaled that Bogaerts safe. Aybar immediately stopped what he was doing to argue, never making the throw to first.

Boagerts, though, nearly overslid the bag, which according to the new rule would have been an automatic double play. He pointed to the base to let West know that he maintained contact, but West still remained silent. Bogaerts, assuming he was out, paused for a moment before getting up and running back toward the dugout, at which point Aybar tagged him and he was ruled out.

We’ll never know what would have happened had the inning continued, but Hanley Ramirez followed the event with a base hit that scored Dustin Pedroia from third. An extra out could have made the difference in Boston’s 5-3 loss.

Bogaerts met with the media following the loss, as seen on “Red Sox Final,” and discussed the play. Check out what he had to say in the video above.

Thumbnail photo via Bob DeChiara/USA TODAY Sports Images

TMZ logo

© 2019 NESN

NESN Shows

Partner of USATODAY Sports Digital Properties