The Norris Trophy finalists for the 2015-16 NHL season were announced Friday, and they are Erik Karlsson of the Ottawa Senators, Drew Doughty of the Los Angeles Kings and Brent Burns of the San Jose Sharks.

The award goes to the best all-around defenseman and is voted on by members of the Professional Hockey Writers Association.

Karlsson is the favorite for the award after leading all defensemen in scoring with 82 points (16 goals, 66 assists), and he also became the first blueliner to lead the league in assists since Boston Bruins legend Bobby Orr in 1974-75.

Doughty was a two-way stalwart for a Kings team that dominated puck possession and excelled defensively.

Burns ranked second among D-men in scoring with 75 points, and his 27 goals led all blueliners (six more than second place).

All three finalists drove puck possession with Corsi-for percentages above 50 during 5-on-5 play, per War on Ice.

Screen Shot 2016-04-29 at 7.23.59 PM

Click the link below for analysis of the Norris Trophy race.

READ: Norris Trophy breakdown and prediction >>

Thumbnail photo via  Marc DesRosiers/USA TODAY Sports Images

Thumbnail photo via Ottawa Senators defenseman Erik Karlsson (65) follows the puck in the first period agains the Pittsburgh Penguins at the Canadian Tire Centre. Mandatory Credit: Marc DesRosiers-USA TODAY Sports