Here’s Why It’s OK That Sidney Crosby Touched The Prince Of Wales Trophy

by NESN Staff

May 27, 2016

The Pittsburgh Penguins are headed back to the Stanley Cup Final for the first time since 2009, but some Penguins fans are freaking out instead of celebrating because Sidney Crosby touched the Prince of Wales Trophy.

NHL superstition rules that players aren’t supposed to touch a trophy until they win the Stanley Cup Final. Breaking that rule would be bad luck, then.

The San Jose Sharks, for example, didn’t touch the Campbell Bowl after their Game 6 win over the St. Louis Blues earlier this week. The Penguins became the first team since 2010 to touch the conference trophy.

But Crosby might have had a reason to grab the trophy.

Crosby’s Penguins, of course, won the Cup final in 2009 and lost in 2008. So, for consistency’s sake, this makes sense.

He’d just better hope he’s right.

Click for the full Stanley Cup Final schedule >>

Thumbnail photo via Don Wright/USA TODAY Sports Images

Bryan Rust
Previous Article

Bryan Rust’s Two Game 7 Goals Send Penguins To Stanley Cup Final

Steve Kerr
Next Article

Steve Kerr Lost Control Of His Mouth At The End Of Warriors’ Game 5 Win

Picked For You