NHL Awards 2016: Patrick Kane, Braden Holtby, Anze Kopitar Among Big Winners


Patrick Kane made history at the 2016 NHL Awards show.

The Chicago Blackhawks right wing became the first American-born player to win the Hart Trophy, which is given to the league’s most valuable player, since the 1990-91 season. The National Hockey League Players’ Association also honored Kane, whose 106 points earned him the Art Ross Trophy, with its most outstanding player award, the Ted Lindsay Award.

The Los Angeles Kings also were big winners, as Drew Doughty was awarded the Norris Trophy, and Anze Kopitar took home the Selke Trophy and Lady Byng Award. Goalie Braden Holty won the Vezina Trophy, and his Washington Capitals coach, Barry Trotz, earned the Jack Adams Award.

You can check out the full list of winners below.

Hart Trophy: Patrick Kane, Chicago Blackhawks
Vezina Trophy: Braden Holtby, Washingon Capitals
Norris Trophy: Drew Doughty, Los Angeles Kings
Selke Trophy: Anze Kopitar, Los Angeles Kings
Calder Trophy: Artemi Panarin, Chicago Blackhawks
Ted Lindsay Award: Patrick Kane, Chicago Blackhawks
Jack Adams Award: Barry Trotz, Washingon Capitals
General Manager of the Year: Jim Rutherford, Pittsburgh Penguins
Bill Masterton Trophy: Jaromir Jagr, Florida Panthers
Lady Byng Award: Anze Kopitar, Los Angeles Kings
Mark Messier Leadership Award: Shea Weber, Nashville Predators

Thumbnail photo via Joshua Dahl/USA TODAY Sports Images

Boston Red Sox shortstop Xander Bogaerts
Previous Article

Red Sox Wrap: Eighth-Inning Meltdown Dooms Boston In Third Straight Loss

Boston Red Sox first baseman Hanley Ramirez
Next Article

Red Sox Notes: Hanley Ramirez Has Message For Haters After Home Run

Picked For You