Dustin Pedroia Named Red Sox’s 2016 Winner Of Heart And Hustle Award


Dustin Pedroia was named the Boston Red Sox’s 2016 recipient of the Heart and Hustle Award, according to an announcement made Tuesday by the Major League Baseball Players Alumni Association (MLBPAA).

The award, which is the only one in baseball voted on by former players, honors “active players who demonstrate a passion for the game of baseball and best embody the values, spirit and traditions of the game.”

Pedroia was one of 30 individual team winners named Tuesday. The overall winner will be announced Nov. 15, after alumni and active players vote to select an individual from the 30-player pool.

Pedroia was voted the overall winner in 2013. The Red Sox second baseman played through a thumb injury that season en route to winning a World Series title and a Gold Glove.

This is the 12th year the Heart and Hustle Award has been given out. Other past overall winners include David Eckstein (2005), Craig Biggio (2006, 2007), Grady Sizemore (2008), Albert Pujols (2009), Roy Halladay (2010), Torii Hunter (2011), Mike Trout (2012), Josh Harrison (2014) and Anthony Rizzo (2015).

The complete list of 2016 individual team winners is below.

American League
Baltimore Orioles: Adam Jones
Boston Red Sox: Dustin Pedroia
Chicago White Sox: Todd Frazier
Cleveland Indians: Mike Napoli
Detroit Tigers: Ian Kinsler
Houston Astros: George Springer
Kansas City Royals: Eric Hosmer
Los Angeles Angels: Kole Calhoun
Minnesota Twins: Eduardo Nuñez
New York Yankees: Didi Gregorius
Oakland Athletics: Marcus Semien
Seattle Mariners: Nelson Cruz
Tampa Bay Rays: Logan Forsythe
Texas Rangers: Ian Desmond
Toronto Blue Jays: Kevin Pillar

National League
Arizona Diamondbacks: Paul Goldschmidt
Atlanta Braves: Nick Markakis
Chicago Cubs: Anthony Rizzo
Cincinnati Reds: Zack Cozart
Colorado Rockies: Charlie Blackmon
Los Angeles Dodgers: Chase Utley
Miami Marlins: Marcell Ozuna
Milwaukee Brewers: Jonathan Lucroy
New York Mets: Curtis Granderson
Philadelphia Phillies: Andres Blanco
Pittsburgh Pirates: David Freese
San Diego Padres: Jon Jay
San Francisco Giants: Brandon Crawford
St. Louis Cardinals: Stephen Piscotty
Washington Nationals: Daniel Murphy

Thumbnail photo via Kevin Sousa/USA TODAY Sports Images

TMZ logo

© 2018 NESN

Partner of USATODAY Sports Digital Properties