Olympic Men’s Soccer Schedule 2016: Dates, Start Times, Scores At Rio Games


August 14, 2016

Brazil soccer is hoping the new direction it has taken will lead to Olympic glory.

The men’s soccer tournament at the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro began Thursday, with 16 teams chasing the gold medal. Mexico currently stands as the defending champion, but the likes of Argentina, Brazil and Germany lead a host of contenders for the big prize.

The men’s tournament primarily features players from their respective U-23 national teams, but overage stars such as Brazil’s Neymar and Mexico’s Oribe Peralta will be familiar to soccer fans near and far.

Brazil never has won a gold medal at an Olympics. Newly installed coach Rogerio Micale, who took over the host nation’s U-23 team last month after Dunga’s firing, faces both the opportunity and challenge of a lifetime.

Check out the entire Olympic men’s soccer schedule below. All times are Eastern.

Aug. 4
Iraq 0, Denmark 0
Honduras 3, Algeria 2
Brazil 0, South Africa 0
Mexico 2, Germany 2
Portugal 2, Argentina 0
Sweden 2, Colombia 2
South Korea 8, Fiji 0
Nigeria 5, Japan 4

Aug. 7
Mexico 5, Fiji 1
Portugal 2, Honduras 1
Germany 3, South Korea 3
Argentina 2, Algeria 1
Denmark 1, South Africa 0
Nigeria 1, Sweden 0
Brazil 0, Iraq 0
Japan 2, Colombia 2

Aug. 10
Algeria 1, Portugal 1
Argentina 1, Honduras 1
Germany 10, Fiji 0
South Korea 1, Mexico 0
Colombia 2, Nigeria 0
Japan 1, Sweden 0
Denmark 0, Brazil 4
South Africa 1, Iraq 1

Aug. 13
Germany 4, Portugal 0
Nigeria 2, Denmark 0
Honduras 1, South Korea 0
Brazil 2, Colombia 0

Aug. 17
Brazil vs. Honduras, Noon
Nigeria vs. Germany, 3 p.m.

Aug. 20
Bronze-medal game, Noon
Gold-medal game, 4:30 p.m.

Thumbnail photo via Winslow Townson/USA TODAY Sports Images

Boston Red Sox left fielder Andrew Benintendi
Previous Article

Red Sox Notes: Andrew Benintendi, Sandy Leon Shine At Plate; Bullpen Bounces Back

Next Article

USA Rowing Women’s Eight Team Wins Gold To Establish Olympic Dynasty

Picked For You