MLB Award Finalists: Red Sox Represented By Rick Porcello, Mookie Betts


The postseason didn’t go the Boston Red Sox’s way, but they might not end the season trophy-less thanks to the 2016 Baseball Writers’ Association of America award finalists.

Right-hander Rick Porcello had a tremendous bounce-back season, and he was named one of the three finalists for American League Cy Young as a result. He led baseball with 22 wins and also posting a 3.15 ERA with 189 strikeouts over 223 innings.

Now-retired slugger David Ortiz didn’t make the cut for AL MVP, but right fielder Mookie Betts did. Betts batted .318 with 31 home runs, 113 RBIs and 214 hits.

Here’s the complete list of finalists.

American League
Jose Altuve, Houston Astros
Mookie Betts, Red Sox
Mike Trout, Los Angeles Angels

National League
Kris Bryant, Chicago Cubs
Corey Seager, Los Angeles Dodgers
Daniel Murphy, Washington Nationals

American League
Corey Kluber, Cleveland Indians
Rick Porcello, Red Sox
Justin Verlander, Detroit Tigers

National League
Kyle Hendricks, Cubs
Jon Lester, Cubs
Max Scherzer, Nationals

American League

Jeff Banister, Texas Rangers
Terry Francona, Indians
Buck Showalter, Baltimore Orioles

National League
Dusty Baker, Nationals
Joe Maddon, Cubs
Dave Roberts, Dodgers

American League
Tyler Naquin, Indians
Gary Sanchez, New York Yankees
Michael Fulmer, Tigers

National League
Kenta Maeda, Dodgers
Trea Turner, Nationals
Corey Seager, Dodgers

The winners will be announced at the MLB Esurance Awards show on Friday, Nov. 8 at 8 p.m. ET on MLB Network.

Thumbnail photo via Greg M. Cooper/USA TODAY Sports Images

Boston Bruins goalie Tuukka Rask
Previous Article

Berkshire Bank Hockey Night In New England: Projected Bruins-Sabres Lines, Pairings

New England Patriots head coach Bill Belichick
Next Article

Bill Belichick’s Favorite Drive Of All Time Kicked Off Patriots’ Dynasty

Picked For You