2017 MLB Home Run Derby Live: Highlights, Score, Reaction And More


One of baseball’s most exciting events takes place Monday night in Miami, where some of the best power hitters in Major League Baseball will descend upon Marlins Park for the 2017 Home Run Derby.

Many experts, as well as oddsmakers, have predicted reigning champion and Marlins superstar, Giancarlo Stanton, will win again, but New York Yankees star Aaron Judge should give him plenty of competition for the trophy.

Here are the eight contestants in this year’s derby.

Giancarlo Stanton, Miami Marlins,
Aaron Judge, New York Yankees
Cody Bellinger, Los Angeles Dodgers
Miguel Sano, Minnesota Timberwolves
Charlie Blackmon, Colorado Rockies
Mike Moustakas, Kansas City Royals
Justin Bour, Miami Marlins
Gary Sanchez, New York Yankees

Keep it right here for live score updates, highlights and more with our Home Run Derby live blog.

Final: Aaron Judge beat Miguel Sano with his 11th home run of the final and still had 1:53 left on the clock. He’s the new Home Run Derby champion, and the first Yankees player to win the event since Robinson Cano in 2011.

Final: Miguel Sano hit 10, which likely won’t be enough to beat Aaron Judge. We’ll have to see, though.

Final: Miguel Sano will lead off the final.

Semifinals: Aaron Judge is into the final, defeating Cody Bellinger 13-12, including a homer that went 513 feet!

Semifinals: Cody Bellinger finishes his semifinal matchup against Aaron Judge with 12 homers. That probably won’t be enough after Judge belted 23 in Round 1.

Semifinals: Miguel Sano is into the final after hitting 11 homers. He’ll go head-to-head against either Aaron Judge or Cody Bellinger.

Semifinals: Gary Sanchez hit 10, and now it’s Miguel Sano’s time to match or beat.

Semifinals: Gary Sanchez vs. Miguel Sano is the first semifinal matchup. Sanchez will hit first.

Semifinals: Here’s an updated look at the bracket.

Round 1: Aaron Judge advances by one home run, 23-22, over Justin Bour. An incredible show was put on by Judge.

Round 1: Justin Bour hit 22 (!) home runs — a new high in one round tonight.

Round 1: No. 7 seed Justin Bour is up next. He will be opposed by No. 2 seed Aaron Judge. This is the last first-round matchup.

Round 1: In yet another exciting duel, Cody Bellinger beats Charlie Blackmon 15-14 thanks to two homers in bonus time.

Round 1: Charlie Blackmon blasted 14 homers. Now it’s Cody Bellinger’s turn.

Round 1: Charlie Blackmon now is up. He’s the No. 6 seed and will be opposed by No. 3 seed Cody Bellinger.

Round 1: Another close matchup, as Gary Sanchez defeats defending champ Giancarlo Stanton 17-16.

Round 1: Gary Sanchez caught fire after a slow start and has the high total with 17 home runs (two in bonus time). Top seed Giancarlo Stanton is up next, and he has a tough challenge ahead of him.

Round 1: Miguel Sano barely advances to Round 2 with an 11-10 edge over Mike Moustakas.

Round 1: Miguel Sano hit nine home runs, then two more during his 30 seconds of bonus time. Mike Moustakas is up.

Round 1: No. 5 seed Miguel Sano versus No. 4 seed Mike Moustakas is the first matchup. Sano is up now.

8 p.m.: A performance by Pitbull to kick off the night.

7:15 p.m. ET: Sounds like Aaron Judge already is putting on a show.

Thumbnail photo via Kim Klement/USA TODAY Sports Images

TMZ logo

© 2017 NESN