The Arizona Coyotes, at long last, are on the move.

No, they’re not heading to Quebec City or Hamilton or even Hartford. The Coyotes are staying in the desert, but they’re moving out of the Western Conference’s Pacific Division as part of the NHL’s upcoming realignment that will coincide with the welcoming of the new Seattle franchise to the league.

The to-be-named Seattle team will reside in the Pacific when it begins play in 2021, while the Coyotes will shift to the Central Division.

That’s the only change, but if you need a refresher, here’s what the NHL’s divisions will look like beginning with the 2021-22 season.


Atlantic: Boston, Buffalo, Detroit, Florida, Montreal, Ottawa, Tampa Bay, Toronto
Metropolitan: Carolina, Columbus, New Jersey, New York Islanders, New York Rangers, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, Washington


Central: Arizona, Chicago, Colorado, Dallas, Minnesota, Nashville, St. Louis, Winnipeg
Pacific: Anaheim, Calgary, Edmonton, Los Angeles, San Jose, Vancouver, Vegas

Thumbnail photo via Steve Mitchell/USA TODAY Sports Images